Brattleboro Food Co-op Board Welcomes Four New Members

  | Board of Directors

The BFC Board of Directors is pleased to announce that Mary Bené, Anna Edson, Skye Morse, and Arion Thiboumery have joined their leadership team, following their election by shareholder member-owners.

Skye Morse has been involved with the Brattleboro Food Co-op since birth (his parents met at the mail-order counter of the original Co-op on Flat Street) and when he and his wife returned to the area recently after living in Boston for a number of years, they immediately joined the Co-op as shareholders. Skye brings 12 years’ experience in financial services and renewable energy to the Co-op.

Arion Thiboumery owns and operates a small-scale meat processing plant, Vermont Packinghouse in North Springfield, Vermont, which works with over 300 small farms in the area. Vermont Packinghouse opened in 2014 with the mission of contributing to a decentralized, sustainable means of meat production.

When Mary Bené moved to the Brattleboro area just over a year ago, she immediately made the Co-op her community touchstone. She has served on numerous boards of humane and community advocacy organizations over the years.

Anna Edson is a staff representative to the Board of Directors, and works in the BFC Meat Department. She has worked at the Co-op for sixteen years, and has previously served on the Board of Directors.

The Brattleboro Food Co-op was formed in 1975 as a small buying club, and now occupies a 16,000 square foot store in a four-story building right downtown that also includes offices, a community room, a cooking classroom, a commissary kitchen, and 24 apartments owned and managed by Windham and Windsor Housing Trust. Over 7,000 people own this vibrant organization dedicated to supporting a sustainable food system, built on cooperative principles.

The Board of Directors is embarking on a highly active listening project with community partners to further develop the connections and engagement that our Brattleboro Food Co-op provides for our community. These new board members will do much to enhance that work. Current board members also include Beth Neher, Richard Berkfield, Wesley Pittman, and Jerelyn Wilson.

For more information: Sabine Rhyne (802-257-0236.